Persian Poetry: Finding What’s In Our Heart


Tonight I went to a Persian poetry recital tonight hosted by the British Institute of Persian Studies and City’s Iranian society.

Listened to some traditional and contemporary poetry by Rumi, Hafez to Aminpour and a Sitar performance by musician Anoosh Jahanshahi.

Though I was looking forward to the event, but didn’t expect the impact it ended up having on me. As I sat listening to the Farsi I found myself recollecting my most happiest and my most heartbreaking moments, the ones I don’t share, the times I loved the world and the times in which the world has consumed my soul. From that I truly began to think about the way we express the deepest of feelings inside of our hearts.

Can we unfold the layers of our soul? Could we give them to another? Is it conscious? Or is it natural? Have the fragmented pieces of our soul already fallen, lining the path we’ve travelled so far?

Be it pain or love, why do we not share these feelings with others? Why do we fear to open our souls? And what happens to those who do find a way, many end up leaving this world too soon. Does the power lying in our hearts make us weak?

“In your light I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest where no-one sees you, but sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.”

― Rumi

Leave a comment